~ Old Fashioned Schooling ~

old-fashioned-school-teachers-desk-coloma.jpg

 

Homeschooling the old fashioned way has always been the ideal , but life changes and the world changes.  So what do we do ?  In TN there were schools where plain children attended school together , where Mammas and older daughters shared in the teaching of everyones children, where before they home schooled at home.  If we were still there we would be homeschooling but it was nice for the children to have that option and moms share the teaching load.   I guess they were doing what women here do, its called Co-op !  Each Parent shares in teaching others children on a subject. For some this is a wonderful thing as Others teach subjects you don’t know much about. ie. Art, Music Lessons, Science Lab, History etc.

And what do you do with Technology ?   Do we forget about it and stay in a ” plain” way or do we use it without abusing it ?  I have a kindle that I won online, I use it to let my children listen to books and I do the same when we are doing house chores or its bedtime.  All reading of books by my children other then this is done from real books.  I think the only reason I like my Kindle Fire is that at night when I am tired , I can still use my ear buds and listen to Bible or a book I am reading to review by using   Text-to-Speech , but I can also turn the page black and use it when everyone else is sleeping. Yes sometimes Mammas don’t get time during the day to sit and read something they enjoy, so after everyone is tucked in and asleep, reading and enjoying a nice cup of Tea can be just the ticket to relax.

My children currently at 11, 10, and 5 are not allowed to use the PC and go online .  I try to keep it this way so that they are not  exposed to  things that are ungodly. Even shows we watch on DVD or on TV  are carefully selected and no one has free reign of flipping channels or just any movie.  We have no movies here in our home that are ungodly, we prefer old fashioned movies like Little House on the Prairie, Anne of Green Gables and The Waltons.   Wouldn’t it be nice if things were still old fashioned and simpler like they use to be.

We do have old wooden desks with chairs, lots of books, flashcards , a crank pencil sharpener and try to shun as much high tech stuff as possible.

Did you ever really think about how much  has really changed ?  How much is really needed ? How far we really have to go to fit into society ?  My 11 year old knows how to type and will improve on that and computer skills in the coming years, she loves her Dad’s 3D architect program and paint.  But she also loves to bake, cook and draw free hand.  When I was in school in he 80’s we didn’t have computers, we all took shorthand, typing, business machines, the most high tech thing I  remember is how much stuff could fit on a microfiche machine which was in our library with all the books.  Math was done with the mind, no calculator…  I took 3 years of business Math, Accounting and Bookkeeping… don’t ask me what on earth I was thinking…smile.   I majored in Art and Business for 4 years.  Went on to college for Computer Programming…chuckle !   God had other plans…  I never finished that degree or my first year…   I decided being a Mamma and keeping the home was more important and in all actuality that was the way I was raised and how I was trained at home.

Did you ever think about how life doesn’t change for the Amish or some Mennonite groups ? Where we lived in TN they had no electricity, spring water plumbed into the house, Heat with wood and ran outside to use the outhouse !  Yes in 2008 to present !  Nothing changes even if the grid falls appart or if the government shut down the internet.   Life carries on in a good , godly, wholesome way.  I think that is a good thing.   If I had no electric, I might miss my kindle, but  I guess I could always read paperbacks and write real old fashioned letters.  There are some things that are just better for us in many ways.

~ Head Mistess of Faithful Acres Academy ~

6 thoughts on “~ Old Fashioned Schooling ~

  1. Linda,
    Great introduction to your new blog. I think there is an empty place for the old fashioned things. People think that “old stuff” is gone and we’ve got to keep up with technology that changes more often than people change clothes. We can balance email and snail mail, learn cursive and keyboarding, cook from scratch and enjoy a restaurant. Thank you for reintroducing traditional truth.

      • Thanks for sharing Linda! Someone said to me the other day it sounded like Little House on the Prairie over here…it hurt my feelings for about 5 seconds and then I just felt sorry for them. The worldly offerings can be so deceitful, and distract you from real learning. In the end most people won’t be able to do simple things to survive, like grow their own food, build a house. We are pretty low tech, haven’t had ‘T.V.’ in over 11 years – I use a trac phone for emergencies – we don’t text people…and yes people look at us like we’re from the zoo. I don’t mind knowing about technology that would help our business, but I try to keep a grip.
        I love old fashioned books, I love printed material! I love to teach skills that most won’t even attempt, like embroidery at age 4.
        I’ll stop! So much to think about in this area, it’s deep! Thanks again for sharing your link at Joyous Notions. Blessings, Theresa

Leave a Reply

